Mixing Station and IDCAs

All aspects of David Schumann's excellent mixing app
KMaxwell

Mixing Station and IDCAs

Post by KMaxwell »

Mixing Station

I am not a novice with Mixing Station but I am also not an expert. With that said. I am setting up some default settings and layout in Mixing station that will be mostly used for the singers in a church setting to use to control their IEM mixes. This will be used with an X32Rack that will be there monitor mixer. At the moment there is a Full sized X32 at FOH.

I am trying to come up with an idiot proof way to let the people control their IEM Mix. Maybe I should call it a user friendly way.

I am using IDCAs for each Mix Bus send (Layer) for them. I am trying to figure out if I need to let any device access any mix bus send (Layer) or a few layers or just their own Layer. Part of the reasoning for allowing this is if someone doesn’t have their device or if they want another singer to help them. I can probably steer the leadership towards whatever way is better. But I can come up with reasons why each way has its pros and cons. This will be setup in a way that the person mixing FOH can help them if needed.

The IDCAs will be set up something like this. An IDCA for the individual’s mic only, the more ME control. An IDCA that will be all the other vocals. An IDCA that will be all instruments except for the drums and an IDCA for just the drums. And an IDCA or 2 for other things. I also like that when you touch the IDCA name all of the channels in that IDCA spill to the screen.