Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Everything to do with the Dante Audio Networking aspect of the digital eco-system
User avatar
pmaillot
Posts: 604
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:32 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by pmaillot »

Your internal card is not 'seen' by the system. I'd remove the external card, then test again with only the internal one to make sure. If it is still not recognized, try to re-seat the module inside and test again. If that still doesn't work, remove the internal module and install the module that came with your external card, as you're sure this one works.

Be aware you need to install different Dante FW on the modules between external and internal.
User avatar
GaryH
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:19 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by GaryH »

@Synetos Sorry I misunderstood your question.... To go along with what @pmaillot said There could be an issue with the Internal card between Brooklyn 2 and Brooklyn 3 cards. It is quite possible the card placed internally was a 3 which requires the AOIP version firmware just for the Brooklyn 3 AOIP card. I know in the US all the Wing-Dante cards from SW now come with the (newer( Brooklyn III. The 2 and 3 firmware files are not compatible. Furthermore you can't tell from the box outside-it says on the Dante card itself. There are 4 different firmware files from MT, 2 each for the AOIP and Wing-Dante. You need the correct AOIP file for the internal card type you use. If you have a B3 version it's Wing AoIP 4.2.4.8. If B2 version is Wing AoIP 4.2.3.13. You may also need to remove the internal card to flash it. In your troubleshooting process I might FIRST swap it with your external card (careful) and see if it works then in the external card slot. Just to see if it is recognized. Hope it is just as simple (not all that simple :-)) as reseating the internal card and that could well be. Depending on where the internal card came from, it is possible it needs to be flashed in that unit where it came from. eg The Yamaha NY64 card will work in a Wing BUT it has to be flashed while in the Yamaha mixer using the Wing firmware first, it otherwise-due to proprietary Yamaha software-is not seen by a Wing at all. Hope that is not your situation however.
Synetos
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 26, 2023 2:15 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by Synetos »

Thanks guys. It came from an external card and is Brooklyn 2. That was confirmed before it was installed. I flashed both cards yesterday with the correct firmware through Dante control. Flashing the external card and then inserting it will not be the same, as the internal flashing is different firmware. It sees the card just fine with Dante Control and has the option for Separate (although I never did get that to work).

The card does function and audio routes through it just fine. I simply cant make it the sync source. I only wanted to do that so I could swap out the card slot with minimal effort if I want to use the SDCard.

What do you guys recommend for sync setup configuration?

I have Marian Clara E in my DAW, and two Dante cards in my Wing. I am not using any other Dante devices in my setup right now. I have DL32 over AES50. I send audio out to my main studio speakers with AES connections on the Wing.

Note: Taking the external card out and restarting Wing still has the DANTE sync source grayed out. When I pick it with the Wing Edit app, it flips to INTERNAL.
User avatar
GaryH
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:19 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by GaryH »

@Synetos Glad the cards are known and flashed correctly. 2 thoughts additionally. 1) If you do use "separated" on the internal card, remember that makes a difference which Wing rj45 is for Dante and which is just network so (maybe) try switching the side? If already set as "switched" that won't be the case and which Wing rj45 side is which should not matter. A thought. BTW I know flashing the external with internal won't be the same or work correctly but it would still be recognized and if card recognition was the issue you would at least know the card itself is ok without flashing it at all.

2) In Dante Controller I assume the internal and external cards show up? If so for the "clock status" tab, are they checked off as preferred leader? If inot try that. All my desks in my network are checked off as preferred leaders (and none are set sync to external). One desk ends up as leader in the network and I do not dictate it. If one mixer is turned off another becomes leader. I can't say for sure that is why your card is greyed out but it could be. DC does not see the Dante cards in the Wing as potential clock leaders so blocks it as a clock source somehow? I am just guessing. Worth a try. Does not make a lot of sense that neither card can be set as sync master on the Wing.

I have the Wing itself set as synced internal...but I can select Dante if I want. Perplexing problem.
Synetos
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 26, 2023 2:15 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by Synetos »

Thanks for the suggestions. I had Clara E as only preferred leader in Dante Controller software.

The internal card worked just fine when I moved it to the external card slot. I flashed it back to the firmware for external card use, tested it, and then took it our and put it in it's box.

After this time waste, I decided to just forget about Dante and went back to my SDCard USB interface to my DAW. It is all I really need. I dont have a reason to have Dante at this time, or the added complexity.

If anyone is interested, I will probably be selling the two Wing Dante Cards and the Marion Clara E PCIe Dante controller. For what I am doing, a few milliseconds really doesn't matter. I like the SDCard setup for recording band jams and virtual soundcheck for dialing in IEM. Simple and nothing special required. All "real" recording is done with high-end mics in my studio. USB is plenty fine for sending a guide and click track, and everything else being monitored from the Wing. It's more than adequate, and sounds good to my ears.
User avatar
GaryH
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:19 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by GaryH »

@Synetos I understand. I’m going to try my internal card and uncheck it as a preferred leader just to see if I can recreate your issue. For my own education but I’ll post my results. You’ll have no problem selling that stuff if you decide to. Maybe a nice break will re energize you.

EDIT: Just tried that and it made no difference, I still was able to choose Dante as a clock option in the setup audio section. So much for that theory :-)
Synetos
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 26, 2023 2:15 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by Synetos »

Thanks for the test. Must be something not working right with my module slot. Maybe the card wasn't seated perfectly? Who knows. My world is simpler just using USB interface.
User avatar
GaryH
Posts: 914
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2021 8:19 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by GaryH »

@Synetos PM me if you ever decide to sell...esp the computer card :-)

ALSO did you try the Wing/setup/audio clock bit with JUST the Wing without the rest of the dante network connected? I am curious if it can then choose Dante as a source. I am leaning towards the Clara being the issue in some odd way, a setting or something. It should just work honestly so maybe the port is the issue. This shouldn't be an issue for you or anyone and ruining your dante experience is too bad. Glad at least you can do everything using USB. I do get the SD desire; it's why I removed the external card and just use the internal one. That is a great device to keep!
Synetos
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri May 26, 2023 2:15 pm

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by Synetos »

No. I dont think I tried that. All-in-all, it was a weird issue. All the Dante channels flowed just fine, just could not make it the device to sync with the Dante network for the internal card. I could probably eventually figure it out, but frankly, the $2500 to just shave off a couple RTL-ms isn't worth it to me. The routing is more complex for basic things than just using the SD-Live for noncritical recording. If I had other Dante devices, I might have put more effort into a resolution. Anyway, thanks for the tips.
User avatar
stufenbau
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2024 9:35 am

Re: Installing a Dante card to the Wing internal slot.

Post by stufenbau »

Hi @Synetos

I read your comment and experience a similar behaviour. After installing a Dante module (which is a Brookly III) from a regular Wing Dante Card into the module slot inside the Wing (so I can still use the SD card), Dante in general is working and the interface appears in Dante Controller.
But I cannot set the Wing to use the Module as the "Clock Source" (Setup, Audio, Audio Clock) as it is greyed out. As I have connected another X32 via AES that also has a interface I set the wing to "AES50 A".
Did you solve this issue in the meantime?

Manufacturer Information
Manufacturer: Behringer
Model Name: wing-dante64
Software Version: 4.2.3.13
Hardware Version: 4.2.3.13

Dante Information
Dante Model: Brooklyn III
Dante Firmware Version: 4.2.4.8
Hardware Version: 4.2.0.25
ROM/Boot Version: 4.2.4

Synetos wrote: Thu Feb 08, 2024 2:47 pm If one has both internal and card slot Brooklyn II cards installed, and flashed properly, why would "DANTE" appear "grayed" out when choosing Sync Source from Setup/Audio? Can only set the Card Slot Dante as sync source? I have a Marion Clara E in my DAW as the master clock. It only matters if I want to remove the card and put in the SDCard reader.


Image
Post Reply

Return to “Dante Audio Networking”