Fiber Fun

Everything to do with the Dante Audio Networking aspect of the digital eco-system
GaryH

Fiber Fun

Post by GaryH »

Anyone else out there using fiber optic cable with their Dante systems? I am a newbie for sure but gung-ho into it. it's how I spend a lot of my spare time these days :-) I now have the switches with SFP slots, the proper modules and cable (all much cheaper than I ever thought). All connected up and working nicely. It simply amazes me that it can be! Potentially 512 bidirectional ch's of crystal clear audio traveling at 2/3 the speed of light, for unreal long distance. Amazing tech. My system is of course much smaller, but as is, it's more than I will probably ever need in most situations. Anyway, enjoying the ride. Love to hear about others also doing this.
MJKlein
Site Admin

Re: Fiber Fun

Post by MJKlein »

@GaryH please elaborate. I'm using Dante for the short run between my console and PC, but I'm interested to know about the optical hardware.
湖口鄉新竹縣台灣 Hukou Township, Hsinchu County, Taiwan
Behringer X32/Dante + Soundcraft Ghost + X32ReaperAutoMate
English/中文
This site is hosted at Dathorn: https://dathorn.com/index.php?r=489
https://www.youtube.com/@phoenixmediaforge
GaryH

Post by GaryH »

@MJKlein